Ranking the Coens

coen-brothers-sliceIn spite of the fact that I have confidence in my talents [as I see them], I aim for humility at all times. I have noticed that whenever I begin to think myself special in some way God [by whatever name you assign her] shows me exactly how insignificant I really am.

Nevertheless, I will be bold. The following fourteen reviews will teach you more about screenwriting than all other internet sources combined. My boldness is assured. God will not smite my arrogance. It has nothing to do with me.

I owe it all to The Brother’s Coen. If this were a book, it would be titled:

Why Love Is Impossible in the Works of Ethan and Joel Coen

  1. Fargo: 92
  2. A Serious Man: 92
  3. No Country For Old Men: 91*
  4. Blood Simple: 90
  5. The Man Who Wasn’t There: 87
  6. The Big Lebowski: 84
  7. True Grit: 82
  8. Inside Llewyn Davis: 80
  9. Barton Fink: 79*
  10. Burn After Reading: 78
  11. The LadyKillers: 76
  12. Miller’s Crossing: 73
  13. O Brother Where Art Thou?: 59
  14. Raising Arizona: 50*
6 responses to “Ranking the Coens

  1. I haven’t seen this yet. I would like to read the script so that I can continue the scriptography. Honestly, though, the previews did not appeal to me.

    Have you seen it?

  2. Yeah.

    I think it’s arguably their funniest movie and the Coen’s version of straight comedy. I was laughing out loud in almost every scene (although I would not say the whole crowd was joining me in that). The movie is an unabashed love letter to cinema.

    Absolute break out movie-star performance by Alden Ehrenreich.

    However, the lightness of the whole thing lends it no dramatic weight so the movie can’t really stack up against their great films. I think it belongs like smack dab in the middle of their filmography.

  3. I will have to see it, then, since we both agreed on The Big Lebowski.

    The previews led me to believe what you now confirm, which was why I was nervous. In spite of the fact I find the Coens to be legitimate geniuses, sometimes they miss me by miles. It is usually when they go the straight comedic route that I feel that disconnect. Amazing since, I also list The Big Lebowski as the funniest movie I’ve ever seen.

    Comedy is truly the undiscovered country of aestheticism.

    As of this listing, I still haven’t WATCHED Miller’s Crossing. The Coens bring so much to the filming of their scripts, that I often wonder if my list of their films would match my list of their scripts. It is an interesting question.

  4. Also, if anyone has the script, I don’t have access to it at this time… And I would love to have access to it…

Leave a Reply

